Independent Photography

Slides and negs


About a week ago I shipped off my broken camera to Canon for repairs.  Since then I’ve been shooting slides and film only.  Its strangely liberating being free of the digital screens and turnaround time…

In order to supplement my income (photography covers its own costs, not actual living expense right now) I work part-time as a kitchen supervisor at a coffee shop atCarletonUniversity.  As the summer draws to a close were going to lose two of our staff.  One is going to grad school the other on exchange.  So last Saturday we decided to celebrate by going to the Elmdale tavern in Hintonburg for a performance by the Sin Sisters, an Ottawa Based Burlesque group.

Maggie Sue Sin, one of the Ottawa Sin Sisters takes a bath onstage at the Elmdale Tavern in Ottawa

Some of the friends who wanted to go, outside for a smoke break.

Photographically speaking I got to do something I haven’t done before, shoot film at ISO 12 500.  I used Ilford Delta 3200 black and white, however, through push processing I pushed the actual ISO value two stops.  Delta 3200 is actually ISO 1000 film meaning that developing it at 3200 (its advertised speed) is actually pus processing by one stop, meaning using it at 12 500 is actually three stops pushed.  Every stop you push film gives your more light sensitivity and stronger grain.  I figured burlesque in a dark bar would warrant grainy black and white.  Furthermore my camera (Canon EOS 1n) only meters to ISO 6400 so to me equivalent exposure for 12500 I had to underexpose everything by one stop.  I’m actually fairly pleased with the results.

Poi Sin, one of the Ottawa Sin Sisters performs Poi on stage at the Elmdale Tavern. Due to fire regulations she couldn't use fire....

A member of the Sin Sisters performs at the Elmdale tavern in Ottawa Ontario.

About a week before the burlesque show wasOttawa’s annual festival of graffiti, hip-hop and break dancing called House of PainT.  Hosted underDunbarBridgenear Carleton U andBronson Rdit was a day of spray painting and break dancing.  I dropped by for a few hours near the start of the break dance competition.

A B boy performs under Dunbar Bridge at Bronson rd and Brewer park during House of PainT 2011

A B boy performs under Dunbar Bridge at Bronson rd and Brewer park during House of PainT 2011

A B boy performs under Dunbar Bridge at Bronson rd and Brewer park during House of PainT 2011

Well that’s it for now, my friend recently lent me his Bronica SQa, a Japanese med format made to resemble a Hasselblad.  I’ve never used medium format before so I’m very excited.

Peace,

Adam

One response

  1. Pingback: Chau Julio | Adam Dietrich

Leave a Reply

