Independent Photography

Back into the digital age


I recently bought a Canon 5D Mk II, brand new.  It’s a full frame, 1080 DPI, 22 megapixel, 28 000 iso capable camera and it weighs less than the lenses it uses…  Previously my primary digital bodies had been the 1D Mk II and 30D, fairly good crop body, 8 megapixel cameras, biggest issue with the 1D was its weight though, it weighs about 10 bricks.  I posted about my new camera on facebook and a friend responded with the following:

“I just wanted to say, welcome to 2011. Since you’ve been stuck in 2003, a Black man is President of America, The European Union has realised they can’t artificially inflate their currency. The Canadian dollar is higher than the American dollar, There was a giant earthquake in 2006 in the Indian Ocean that made the Earth change it’s orbit slightly. Oh, and Bin Laden, Saddam Hussein and Gaddafi are dead.”

Pretty much sums it up, my 1D was released in 2003 and the 30D a year later, in short – The 5D is the most advanced and only new camera I’ve ever owned.

That said it’s low light performance is a little slow (my only complaint).

I found it ironic that the same night I purchased my 5D I also purchased a bottle of paper fixer for black and white paper printing, regardless the darkroom process gave me something to shoot right off the bat: the darkroom process.

My friend, photographer Christopher King, selects a negative to use for printing. In the background you can see the enlarger and bathtub used to develop the prints.

Christopher King adjusts the temperature of the water bath for the developing chemicals. In the foreground the enlarger projects an image of the spider in front of the National Gallery of Canada taken on 120 medium format film.

A photo of the process: the left tray has developer in it, prints develop there. The top tray has stop bath (mostly vinegar) in it, that stops the reaction of the developer. The tray below the stop contains fixer which finishes the developing reaction and contains a paper hardener to harden the paper. My print is sitting in the final tray, containing just water for a wash. The whole process takes about 3-4 minutes per print.

The final step, the completed prints are left to dry by hanging from a line.

I haven’t had an actual event yet to cover with the camera, although I have no doubt it will perform well when I need it to.  I mostly keep it in my bag on my to and from work and school, and sometimes make an interesting picture or two.

A seagull takes flight from the side of the Rideau Canal at Hartwell Locks near Carleton

I need something to shoot….

For now that is all peace,

Adam

Leave a Reply

