Independent Photography

Days off


Saturday wasn’t actually supposed to be a day off.  Instead I woke up at 6am to get to the edge of town for 6:50, I was supposed to be meeting a source from the day before.  He was the security guard who helped bring in the thief; he and the Tourist Police were headed to the hills to scour for clues and I was supposed to accompany them, take some pictures and write a perspective piece.  I got there ten minutes early and waited for more than an hour, my ride never came.  I suddenly found myself with an extra day off…

I hadn’t actually gone grocery shopping yet, I’d only purchased a few over-priced items at the mini-mart.  I’m not actually in the town of Nosara, that’s about 7km away, instead I live at Guiones beach.  So I figured I’d bike into Nosara, see the countryside a bit and buy some groceries.  I got a little lost (what’s a 20 minute detour anyway?) but otherwise I got there without trouble, the town was like a ghost town, dusty roads and abandoned buildings (maybe even tumbleweed)… However, I found the grocery store and bought some food.  Then as I was leaving, my bike chain snapped… Leaving me with no choice but to walk the 7km back to Guiones in midday heat and sandals.  Very, very bitter I forgot about taking photos for the most part (I will be going back at some point obviously) until I was about halfway home and working on instinct.

Near the airport was this sign… I put it up because when I got home I was coughing up dirt for an hour…

Laugh all you want… this is a serious issue in the dry season…

Dunno… thought this was a cool shot, the plane coming in to land…

This was a third of the way home… I was still smiling… an hour later, not so much.

When I got home, I drank almost 2 liters of water, and passed out for an hour, woke up and made my first real meal since arriving here (by real I mean not just rice and onions…).  I spent the rest of the afternoon keeping cool and rehydrating, then bought some beers and wandered down to the beach to read before sunset.  It was truly peaceful.

Every sunset amateur cowboys wander down the beach…

I brought two beers with me for reading and sunset… but in the heat they tend to warm up, thus creativity is needed…

Find a rock in a tidal pool, leave beer to chill…

Then I got a little silhouette happy…

Like with this couple walking back along the beach past the tide pools

And then there’s the self portrait…

And why not? If I didn’t photograph me no one would! …

I didn’t want to waste my day off though, so I took a very long walk down the beach.  First I wandered as far as I could before I hit jungle, then swam in the surf, read and decided to walk back.  On my way back I stepped on glass or something and slashed my toe open, I sat on the beach trying to clean it with salt water and my towel, then used gaffer tape and a bit of towel to wrap it up.  Its doing well and didn’t hurt too much on the walk back, however, the day before, I developed a bad blister on the same foot walking from Nosara, my poor left foot…

On the way back I wandered up to this building I had seen from a distance for a long time, it turned out to be an abandoned hotel on a cliff over looking the pacific… I explored for a while and found one other person, he could only tell me it was closed, he had no idea why.  I wanted to climb to the top of a spire that was in the center of the hotel, however, my progress was halted by a pack angry dogs who showed up in force to bark at me…  I’ll be back, I’ll be careful, the view of the beach from the top will be unrivaled.

A horse tour coming out of the hotel area…

Anyone see Jurassic Park?  It takes place on an island off the coast of Costa Rica right…

I’m not even kidding… I half expected to see a velociraptor come through here.

Isla Sorna…

The most confusing part about the hotel… it’s abandoned, with a big manicured lawn.

However, reanimated dinosaurs weren’t the real concern…

A pack of angry dogs was the issue…

I continued my trip back to the office, made some dinner, threw on a movie and wrote this up.  Tomorrow is the start of my first full week of work.

Paz siempre,

Adam Dietrich

Leave a Reply

