Independent Photography

Solo at VON


Okay so a post every two weeks is pretty good right?

The biggest change so far has been the departure of my editor.  She’s been in New York on business (the paper’s owner lives there) for the last two weeks and returns today.   The biggest change for me has been that I have mostly been in charge of the breaking news in Nosara.  Yes sometimes there is breaking news.

Like the first weekend after she left, which left me exhausted.  It was the weekend of St. Patrick’s Day, on Saturday I was supposed to shoot the second round on an ongoing surf contest in the morning then a St. Patrick’s Day event in the evening.

So I drove the 15km to Playa Graza at 6am to meet the boats and waited an hour, no one showed up.  Frustrated and confused I left and drove back to Guiones to the Tico Surf school, they’re the ones who organized the contest.  I walked into the office and saw all the organizers watching TV on a laptop, turns out the waves that day sucked so they had decided to post-pone. I went home and started to relax.

Then came a call from the Nosara firefighters saying they were dealing with a fire in the nearby town of Esperanza.  I drove out there, it turned out that a farmer had tried to clear land by starting a brush fire, then the wind blew it up a hill and it spread out of control.  Although there weren’t flames, in dry brush fire travels along the ground, the hill was burnt.

I went back home, wrote a story ate dinner then drove out to cover St. Patrick’s Day.  I went to a bar called the Black Sheep, which only opens a few times in the year.   It’s an English pub, a legit looking English pub, in the middle of the jungle.  It quickly denigrated into a drunk fest…  Literally people almost drank the place dry, here are some pictures.

The line-up at the bar was took about ten minutes to get through. By the end of the night the Black Sheep was out of all but two types of beer. The only people decked out in green seemed to be the staff.

Ok so if the white balance above looks a bit off… it is, I might have turned up the green channel, for ya know, St Patrick.

The Irish Car Bomb station served Guinness beer with shots of Baileys and Whiskey dropped into the glass. This is how mistakes happen.

And then they were drunk.

Things got a little rowdy after midnight... Including people jumping fully clothed into the pool. When they saw the flash firing from my camera... more people started jumping, then the owners came out and put a stop to it. Something about safety.

The next morning started early.  I had gotten home the night before around 2am and had to be on the road by 6am to be at Playa Garza in time to catch the boats.  As it happened I woke up a little later than I intended to and made it just in time to get on the second last boat.  The second round of the surf contest was hosted at an off shore reef.  According to one of the organizers it was the largest surf contest, held off shore ever in Costa Rica.

Horses (not wild) gallop along Playa Garza before the start of the second round of the Triple Crown Surf Contest. Before Tourism hit the area, fishing and ranching were the two biggest economic activities. Some ranchers now offer sunset horseback rides for tourists.

No big deal just some horses racing along the beach for some reason.

Maikol Alvares Helps to raise a banner for the Triple Crown Surf contest from the top of the judges boat.

Raising the flag at Triple Crown.

A sea taxi sits waiting in Garza bay, sea taxi's are used to transport people from shore to fishing boats which anchor further out. This is due to tidal changes, however, for the purposes of the Triple Crown Surf Contest they ferried people from shore to the boats further out.

That guy later ended up driving me back to shore.  When I got in the boat I noticed three empty beer cans on the floor and one in his hand.  As the boat pulled away from the judges boat he a) finished the beer he was drinking b) threw that can in the ocean (unlike the others c) opened another, then d) lit a cigarette…

Maikol Alvares dives into the water in preparation for his heat in the second round of the Triple Crown Surf contest on March 18. The contest was Costa Rica's first offshore surf contest of this size.

The unfortunate part was that I couldn’t actually see the contest.  Even from where the boats were the surfers were on the horizon, it was way too far away for a decent shot.  So I focused on the side show of the floating crowd.  After about two hours the contest was still going on, I was exhausted and there were no more pictures to take, I figured I would go home and take a nap, so I hoped on a sea taxi and went to shore.

I got home and started making lunch, literally just as I put it in the oven the Nosara firefighters called.  It turns out there was a field fire in the neighbourhood of Santa Marta, started by someone burning trash, once again the wind carried it into a field and started a slow burn of a field.   I went home filed a story and went to sleep finally.

Since then I worked on a few other smaller things.  I covered a police briefing with community members, the arrival of a new police car, a preview for a reggae concert in the nearby town of Samara.  In the interim while writing stories I’ve been working on a personal project and trying to make interesting pictures… so here are some sunset and nature pics.

A woman rides into shore on her knees on a surfboard at Playa Guiones on March 29.

Knee surfing, a new sport?

A man walks along Playa Guiones at sunset on March 29. Sport fishing is gaining in popularity amongst tourists in Nosara.

No budget woes here…

A howler monkey looking for food in a tree. The howlers are considered endangered, as well as some of the slowest monkeys. They communicate by howling, which sounds like a dog bark or warthog, they can be heard up to 3 miles away. This one was camped in a tree not 15 metres from my front door.

No big deal, endangered animals hang around outside my apartment.

Anyway that’s all for now.  For a better look at what I’ve been doing with Voice of  Nosara check out www.voiceofnosara.com (although new recent updates mean you have to scroll way down to see my stuff 😦 two days ago I dominated the top of the page)

Paz siempre,

Adam Dietrich

Leave a Reply

