Independent Photography

Beginning of the End


It’s the final stretch for me in Nosara now.  A week from now I plan to be in the Caribbean town of Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, in the eastern province of Límon.  Until then I’m finishing up a few final stories and assignments and rounding out the things I wanted to do here.

So, last weekend I finally got to Samara, some 25km from Playa Guiones where I live, I left Friday night and returned Sunday.  Without a functioning quad I had to take the bus though, which requires going about 30km out of the way and transferring buses.

Nicoya’s west-coast playground.

I stayed at a place called Las Mariposas.  Their dorms, at $15 a night, were expensive for Central America but affordable for Samara.  The place was nice and the people were good.

Overall I prefer Nosara, the big thing is the beach.  Samara’s is crowded and the sun doesn’t set over the ocean.  From Guiones to Ostional, 6km north, there is a turtle refuge for the Olive Ridley sea turtles who lay their eggs there.  So there is very little beachside development, save for a handful of lots who have concessions from the government.

Samara beach in low season, way more crowded and developed compared to Guiones.

I also saw the biggest land crab I’ve seen yet.  It crawled into the hostel grounds and ended up trapped in a case of empty beer bottles.  We tried to help it free but it freaked out, fell down and ran off.

The crab that wandered into the hostel.

He was big enough to arract the attention of people walking by.

This must have been a big crab. These people were walking ouside the hostel and stopped to take pictures.

Sunday morning I was up at 5:45am to meet one of the editors.  When I told her I was going to Samara, she asked if I could come on a finca tour Sunday morning to take pictures for an article she’s working on for next print issue.  Samara is close enough to Nosara that we cover events there too.

A finca is a plantation basically, as well as a colonial status symbol brought over by the Spanish, they exist all across Latin America.  In this case this one is overgrown, with some small-scale logging.  The owners, who bought it a few years ago, want to use the jungle space they have as an eco tour business.

So we were given a short version of the tour and walked for two hours, mostly through a river because they haven’t cut many trails.  We saw lots of cool stuff, but there was only one pictures I really liked.

A Golden silk orb-weaver spider in the morning sun. When they feel disturbed, for example by a photographer, they curl up defensively.

Rewinding a little bit, earlier that week on July 4th I helped shoot another wedding.  I’m not really going to post pics here though.  Instead i’ve made some site changes, the navigation bar at the top now links to my twitter account, my new facebook page, and two new blogs I set up and linked here, portfolios and weddings.

Check them out they’re part of my effort to expand my online presence and commercial photography business.  However, I will include one picture from my most recent wedding, it’s not in the album on my weddings page though.  It’s what I would call wedding B-roll, but I really like this photo.

One of the groomsmen listening to instructions from the main photographer. When we found the groom he and his friends were chilling in the pool with some beers. Not a bad wedding pre-party.

Paz siempre,

Adam Dietrich

Leave a Reply

