Independent Photography

Retirement


It’s done.  Gio is working for Voice of Nosara and I am on the Caribbean coast one the other side of the country.

Gio and I went out to shoot sunset on the 19th, my second last in Nosara. That’s Gio putting the tripod to good use. The photos from the last sunset were taken on a roll of Provia I had been saving and will have to be developed when I get home.

My last few days were an odd mix of nostalgia, excitement, limited sleep and booze.  I tried to pass on everything I’d learned in six-months to my replacement Gio and at the same time we spent each night drinking and getting to know each other.  It’s funny, though we’d never met we know many of the same people back home.  To give you and idea of how small the photojournalism community in Canada is.

Gio on January 17th at Playa Guiones after his first full day in Nosara.

My trip here was epic, and started when Gio drove me from the Voice of Nosara office, where I’ve lived for the last six-months to a friends house a few kilometers down the road where I was spending the last night.  I had a bag with me and he had his gear bag so I had to sit on the luggage rack and face backwards.  I watched Playa Guiones and all the places I’ve come to know so well fade into the night as we sped away.  It seemed like the most appropriate metaphor.

My last assignment was to photograph an art class at a pre-school for a story on the creative teaching methods they have. I figured the best way to show the uniqueness of what each kid was painting was from this angle.

Saturday morning was early.  I didn’t get to sleep until about 12:30 and I had to be up at 4:30 to meet the bus in time, shortly after 5am.  Tired and nursing a small hangover I set out for Nicoya, then San Jose.  When I arrived in San Jose I realized the last time I had been there had been in late February to meet my girlfriend Yamina at the airport when she arrived for her first visit.  It was only five months ago but it feels like a lifetime ago.

An abandoned barge at Playa Negra, near Puerto Viejo de Talamanca. It’s called Playa Negra because of the black sand that makes up the beach.

I transferred bus stations, the Caribbean bus station was about eight blocks away, had some lunch and boarded the final bus to Puerto Viejo de Talamanca in Costa Rica’s eastern-most province.  I arrived shortly after 7pm and took a taxi to Rockin’ J’s hostel, which is sort of like a warehouse of drunk tourists.  I plan to take it easy and enjoy the chill vibe during the day though.  I’m on a very tight budget now.

The entrance features a mosaic serpent. These gaudy mosaic works were all over and sort of reminded me of Barcelona.

In addition to the standard dorm or private options, this place lets you rent a tent or pitch your own.

The tent section of the backpackers warehouse called Rockin’ J’s (yes it’s the dumbest name ever).

They also let you rent hammocks or hang your own.  Aside from camping with your own tent or hammock renting a hammock is the next cheapest option, so I jumped on it.

The hammock section, mine is the seventh in on the right (blue) I also got a lock box big enough for all my stuff for $7 a night.

The different warehouses border a central courtyard which is nice and relaxed

The central field with the hammock warehouse i’m staying in on the right. The beach is about 20m to the left.

Did I mention the gaudy mosaics?

More gaudy mosaics, this time the entrance to the main hostel from the ‘garden,’ which is really just an empty field with some more mosaics.

The next photo was taken just inside this entrance.

Inside the warehouse, some dining tables, and… More Mosaics.

Before I went east everyone told me the Caribbean was a very different place from the west-coast.  I’ve been here less than 24 hours and already know they’re right.

A local fishing in the Caribbean. One thing that jumps out here is the the Creole slang worked into the local Spanish and the black people. I think Nosara had two, maybe three. Here though slaves who fled Jamaica found a new home and make up, what I estimate to be, about half the local population.

When I said, ‘warehouse for drunk tourists,’ I meant all of it.  I woke up around 9am and walked to my locker where two girls were drinking a litre of wine, their conversation was mostly about how they’d been drunk all day the day before too.  I left  for an hour to buy groceries and when I came back they were gone, but the empty bottle (which had been full) was still there.  Then I went to the beach.

Passed out or just a mid-morning nap? The beach outside the hostel, not quite as nice as Playa Guiones. Also the tide here seems to be a little more constant, I’m thinking that’s because of the shelter created by the Caribbean? But I’m not sure.

I miss Nosara already, the people, the place and the beauty.  I haven’t travelled a whole lot around Costa Rica, but every place I have been to palls in comparison.  Still I am excited to be coming home, though not excited to be coming home broke and in debt.  However, with five months in Guelph before I need to go back to school hopefully I can save up some coin and make a dent in the debt.

Ultimately it was totally worth it though.  And I know I’ve left the paper in good hands with Gio there, if you want to keep up with his travels in Nosara check out his blog.

On Tuesday I will catch a bus back to San Jose I hope to stay in the same hostel I stayed in during my first two nights in Costa Rica back in January.  Then on Wednesday I’ll taxi or bus to the airport and leave for Canada.

Until then I’m going to take it easy on the east-coast, where reggae pours out of every bar, black guys with dreadlocks cruise through town on beach bikes and every other place sells Caribbean style fried chicken.  Not a bad place for my retirement from Voice of Nosara.

Me typing this blog post, it’s been a while since I was blogging from a new interesting location, I think the last time I did this picture was when I first arrived in Nosara. The Caribbean is about 15m behind me.

Paz  siempre,

Adam Dietrich

One response

  1. It’s been just over a year since I started following your blog after the Bluesfest stage collapse article. It’s been a lot of fun and really interesting to follow you on your trip. If you ever wonder if you should cover something in Ottawa, well keep in mind that you have at least one reader from the NCR!

    July 26, 2012 at 1:39 pm

Leave a Reply

